Message sent from:


St. Joseph's Catholic Primary School puts the safety and well-being of our children at the core of our work. In line with our vision, we want all children to learn how to keep safe and stay happy.  This will allow them to thrive both academically and emotionally, and enable them to contribute positively to the wider community.  Our school is committed to ensuring that consistent and effective procedures are in place to fulfil its statutory obligation to safeguard and promote the welfare of the young people in our care.

The Department of Education, through Working Together to Safeguard Children (DfE 2018) and Keeping Children Safe in Education (DfE Sept 2023), places a duty on organisations to safeguard and promote the well-being of children and young people.

We are committed to ensuring that consistent, effective safeguarding procedures are in place to support students, families and staff. Our professional and dedicated staff and governors all share this commitment. Our school has policies and procedures in place for safeguarding our children, all of which are in accordance with local authority and statutory guidance. The school also adheres to safer recruitment guidelines.

If you have any concerns, no matter how small they may seem, about the safety or welfare of any child, please contact the school’s Designated Safeguarding Lead, Mrs M Geen.

Please see the links below for further information.  These are also found in the Safeguarding dropbox:

South Tawton Primary School and Pre-School - Well-Being

Roles & Responsibilities 2023/24

DSL –  Mary Geen              Deputy DSL – Deirdre McNeill  Joan Van Zyl, Bill James and Grace Curry

Safeguarding Governor/ Director – Stephanie Dew

Responsible Person for First Aid – Helen Thompson

Paediatric First Aid – Rachel Nash, Emma Reddie, Gillian Legge, Steve Eagar, Emma Lally, Mary Geen, Lucy Kelly, Helen Thompson, Lucy Dudley

Health & Safety – Neil Biggs

Health & Safety Consultant – Ray West

Fire Officer – Paul Fettel

Risk Assessor – Neil Biggs

Officer for Looked After Children – Bill James

Common Assessment Framework Completer – Bill James

Safer Recruitment, Qualified Staff - Deirdre McNeill, Bill James, David Kenny, Richard Fridge,Judy Westwood, Lauren Williams, Grace Curry and Mary Geen

Hit enter to search